Week 12

Raw Fig and Walnut Truffles, Quinoa Stuffed Pepper, Spinach Arugula Salad with Baby Heirloom Tomatoes and Herbed "Feta"

Hard to believe it’s been three months now! Creating twelve weeks of varying menus hasn’t been an easy task, and I’m really looking forward to the warmer months when a few of my favorite fruits and veggies become readily available so I can start incorporating them into my meals. To be really blunt, winter fruits suck. I miss the berries, the peaches, plums and nectarines, and get really really sick of eating apples, oranges and bananas all the time. Sure, I love clementines, but even those get old after awhile. And I deeply miss my absolute all-time favorite veggie, the eggplant, which I love to use in so many dishes. While I do try to replace it with squash during the cold months, it’s just not the same thing. So I’m excited for spring, and then the summer to come! (This excitement is coupled with a slight feeling of terror at just how fast time is flying by these days. April? Already??? Good lord.)

This week I offered:

  • MONDAY
  • Beet Burgers
  • Garlic-Oregano Sweet Potato Fries
  • Double Chocolate Chip Cookies with Walnuts
  • TUESDAY
  • Tofu-Spinach Scramble with Black Beans
  • Guacamole
  • Maple-Date Cookies
  • WEDNESDAY
  • Quinoa Stuffed Peppers
  • Arugula and Spinach Salad
  • Fig-Walnut Truffles
  • THURSDAY
  • Mustard-Agave Tempeh
  • Roasted Brussels Sprouts
  • Banana Bread
  • FRIDAY
  • Fusilli n’ “Cheese” with Peas
  • Sesame Ginger Broccoli
  • Iced Carrot Cake Cupcakes

Banana Bread

I think I am getting better at baking. Possibly because I’m being more careful about measuring out the ingredients instead of “eying” it. In any case, the banana bread and the cupcakes were extra-delicious. The banana bread came from the Babycakes cookbook, but I used more banana and less oil and it was still very moist and tasty. I actually made a big loaf and then mini-cakes for my customers, and gave the big loaf to my neighbor who has a broken ankle and can’t leave his house. Because I’d baked only what I was giving away/selling, and didn’t want to cut into my gift to try a piece, I was just crossing my fingers that everything tasted ok. Fortunately the banana bread was well-appreciated, and I ended up having some a day later when visiting the neighbor and indeed, it was moist, flavorful, fluffy and delicious! A fantastic recipe when you have old over-ripe bananas laying around.

The tofu scramble is something I’ve been playing around with for a few weeks now. I don’t cook with tofu very often, as I try to use as few processed ingredients as possible, but I’ve read and heard that sprouted organic tofu is actually pretty safe. This is my basic recipe, but obviously there are a million variations. I like to serve it with homemade black beans, blended up with some crushed garlic, sea salt and cilantro.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

